A Sunday Off

IMG_0329

Sunday was a beautifully warm day in central Florida. I felt an urge to shop coming over me, so I enlisted Rosemary as a shopping buddy, and off we went. First we stopped for lunch. We decided on Olive Garden; I knew they offer gluten-free pasta as a substitute, so I figured I was safe. Wrong, for the millionth time, wrong. I had Chicken Marsala, which probably had some flour in the gravy; and was loaded with dairy. Side was mashed potatoes, which I consider alright to eat in moderation. I ordered the salad with no croutons, however, next time I will order with oil and vinegar on the side. I forgot that they use low-fat dressing, which is probably loaded with sugar and bad for you oils. Rosemary wanted breadsticks, and I vowed I wouldn’t eat one. Wrong again; do you remember I have not been graced with willpower? I had one; oddly enough, I felt it was bland and blah. Won’t be a problem saying no to them in the future.

Next, we went to White Rabbit Organic Farm. I love this place. It is approximately a mile off the main drag, and boom, there you are in the country with the cow pastures and farms. I was thrilled to find a large variety of freshly grown produce there.

IMG_0330

My plan was to return home and cook a few meals for the week, I had to do something all this beautiful, fresh organic produce.

I went to town when I got home, I made Stuffed Zucchini, Kale Chips, Brussels Sprouts with Ghee and flavored Himalayan Salt, Chicken Tenders from Tammy Creditcott’s book, Make Ahead Paleo, and a small Meatloaf before I threw in the towel.

IMG_0331

Ah, you think with all that good food prepared, I would have eaten one of the dishes I’d prepared; not so, because now I had a full-fledged wheat-crave going on. I reheated leftovers from my lunch, along with Rosemary’s pasta thrown in for good measure.

I didn’t think it a coincidence that I woke up late, groggy, and with stiff and achy joints this morning. The last few days prior, I’d had a looseness in my joints, I haven’t felt that in a long time. So I think it will be a long, long while before I give in to having any wheat products. Besides, I have some awesome dinners ready to heat and eat this week.

Leave a Reply

