I’m back!

Wow! Three months on whole, natural foods. Yay me!

Sorry for the delay since my last post. We have been, thankfully, quite busy at Organic Mattress Haven. I thought it would be nice to share some of the differences in my life and health I have noticed since going down this new dietary lane. Here is what I have found.

Energy-more absolutely. There is also an ease of movement I haven’t felt in years. I feel this is due to the anti-inflammatory properties of the diet (no sugar, low glycemic, higher anti-oxidant foods). This brings me to…

Decreased joint pain, decreased fibromyalgia symptoms, and better sleep patterns. I just generally feel better than I have in a very long time.

Craving free-that’s right, I really don’t have strong cravings for any type of foods anymore. Oh, wait, chocolate, sweet love of my life, chocolate. I do have an occasional whole food raw chocolate tart from Hail Merry, to appease my chocolate cravings. I purchase them at The Fresh Market for a much better price than that listed on their website, but they are worth every penny the website asks for. Totally indulgent and delicious. One about every two weeks satisfies my chocolate heart.

Guilt-free– as anyone who has been on a million diets will tell you, there is always a feeling of guilt after you eat anything off the diet, and oftentimes even when you do eat what is on the diet, but just too much of it. All of that is disappearing from my life. To eat guilt-free is an experience I don’t think I have felt since I was a child.

Less Stress– There is so much stress associated with dieting. The stress of sticking to it, even when you don’t want to, the stress of worrying every time you leave your home that you will fall off the wagon, the stress of unrealistic goals of weight loss, trying to overcome plateau’s that seem to last forever; the list goes on and on. All of the stress related to eating issues are G.O.N.E. gone.

Kitchen Skills– The Paleo way of eating requires whole, fresh-cooked meals as the norm. Yes, I do still eat out once a week while I run around like a crazy person doing errands on my day off (usually a bunless burger with sweet potato fries); however, generally I am cooking dinner and brown bagging my lunch. The new skills come in the baking department. I never was overly fond of baking, and I wasn’t very good at it. Need creates a powerful determination in people. I am determined to have my treats, and that means making your own most of the time. I now make breads, cookies, and other glorious delicacies with alternative flours that are Paleo friendly; almond, coconut, cashew, and tapioca flours all take up space in the cupboard these days. I use maple syrup and honey for sweeteners, and sometimes dried fruit paste in place of sugar or fat. I am starting to experiment with substitutions and my own recipes. Some are good, some are disasters. I am discovering the joys of baking, who’d of thunk!

I am sure there are many smaller every day little things that I have forgotten to write, but honestly, the best part of this diet is I feel great. Isn’t that what it is all about?

Leave a Reply

